Weekly Photo Challenge : Angles in the garden

Shane Francescut is the guest host this week. His challenge, photograph a person, or a piece of fruit, or a toy — any stationary object — and experiment by photographing it from different angles. While there is no minimum — and you’re always welcome to adapt every photo challenge to meet your needs — I challenge you to choose three of your favourite shots and post them in a gallery on your blog.

So I’m going back in the garden for my WPC inspiration this week.

The staghorn fern loves tropical rainforest conditions and is a native of Tropical Northern Australia and many other tropical areas around the world. Platycerium is a genus of about 18 fern species in the polypod family. I also like how the fronds are shaped like deer antlers and grow at all angles from the kidney shaped shield.

Behind me I could hear a raucous racket going on in next door’s bottlebrush tree. Look what I saw.

angles staghorn-7

I could only get the one shot before this Lorikeet flew away, but he is certainly at an angle to get a feed.

Categories: angles, garden, post-a-week, Weekly photo challenge | Tags: , , , , , | 40 Comments

Post navigation

40 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge : Angles in the garden

  1. Your Lorikeet is fabulous, Pauline. Such beauties- guess they are noisy so they can be found. Love your garden, as you know… feel privileged to have walked through it in person. 🙂

    Like

  2. Nice choices for the challenge. Ok, I admit I didn’t see the Lorikeet in the last photo straight away. Then I read your description, unfocused my eyes and then I got it. 🙂

    Like

  3. What a lucky shot of the Lorikeet. Hanging upside down like that – that is amazing but I’m sure it’s used to it. He must love the “food” in your backyard 😉 I hope he returns and you can take more photos of it. Beautiful green leaves too.

    Like

  4. The camouflage of the lorikeet is brilliant!

    Like

    • You would think such brilliant colours would stand out, but you are right they do melt into the bush and can be quite hard to spot.

      Like

  5. I can’t get over the upside down lorikeet. You are so deserving of your good luck.

    Like

  6. I wouldn’t mind being disturbed by lorikeets once in a while! So many delights in your garden, its a real treat for a temperate trapped gypsy!

    Like

  7. I just love seeing staghorns in the garden – it makes me feel at home 😀

    Like

  8. I’ve only seen staghorn ferns inside. It is real neat to see one in your garden. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  9. I love that last photo. I almost missed the bird, as it’s upside down. 🙂

    janet

    Like

  10. Lovely photos, Pauline – thank you! That little bottle brush reminds me of trimming the ones my parents had along their front wall. 😘

    Like

  11. I love the angles of the stag horn fern and I love that upside-down Lorikeet! You have quite a garden there, Pauline!

    Like

  12. Last week I watched three species of hummingbirds and one bananaquit in a feeding frenzy over a bottlebrush tree.. it’s nice to see your final image to show that its a popular tree in your yard as well.

    I always love your garden posts, so inviting and filled with love for our mother earth.

    Like

  13. Love the angle of the lorikeet. I wonder if they get a rush to the head, eating upside-down like that?

    Like

  14. You’re – my daughter would kill me if she saw me committing this mistake!

    Like

    • Oops!!!! Slip of the finger Meg?

      Like

    • I blame a badly programmed autocorrect function in the brain. The number of times my brain thinks of a word but my fingers type the wrong one is terrifying! I am forever transposing characters. And I KNOW when to use to and when to use too, so why do my fingers constantly type the wrong version?

      What is worse is the misplaced apostrophe. I read one person’s outrage against the use of gateaux (already plural) with an added ‘s to indicate the plural on a café sign. Oops!

      Like

  15. Your a clever opportunist seizing the moment to capture the lorikeet.

    Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Jill's Scene

A small town take on the big, wide world

olddogsnewtruck

putting down roots in Maine

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Tish Farrell

Writer on the Edge

Postcards from Ian and Margaret

We are a couple of retirees, I started this blog as record of our caravan trips. However I have expanded it to include other travel adventures.

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

suesilver

poems, commentary and photography

The Sacred Cave

Slowing down to notice the present moment...

Igor Bilek

"Life is an adventure, not a package tour" ~ Eckhart Tolle ~

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

fulltimelayabout

Photos of my home town

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

ishooteditnblog

Every picture has a story to tell

Memories are made of this

I need photos to keep my memories alive

soitgoes1

Just another WordPress.com site

the vibes

Dreams of a Free Spirit

