A Flower a Week : #4 Sturt’s Desert Pea…

Sturt's Desert Pea

Sturt’s Desert Pea

This week I would like to introduce you to a strange-looking native Australian plant. Sturt’s desert pea (Swainsona Formosa) is one of Australia’s best known wildflowers.  Named after the early explorer, Charles Sturt, it is the floral emblem for South Australia. They are annuals and it is an exciting and thrilling experience to come across large areas of them setting the arid desert areas alight with their brilliant red flowers.

****************

Nalinki on “Angles and views” is hosting a weekly series called: “Flowersoverflowers”, it will be posted every Tuesday. The idea is to bring some more colorful pics of nature into our blogosphere.

Categories: a flower a week, flowersoverflowers, photos | Tags: , , | 34 Comments

Post navigation

34 thoughts on “A Flower a Week : #4 Sturt’s Desert Pea…

  1. It’s so pretty. I love the story from Al about the pee! 😀

    Like

  2. We do like unusual flowers as our floral emblems. Nice shot.

    Like

  3. A little tale!!! When my niece was young we saw some Sturt’s Desert peas at a flower show in Brisbane. I took a photo of it and told her that when Sturt was in central Australia he went outside his tent for a pee and in the morning the flowers were all around! I told her they only grew where an animal or a person peed in the desert. Unfortunately, she decided that this was a great subject for “show and tell” at school!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’re making me homesick for Broken Hill. A magnificent shot of a flower I was always delighted to stumble across, but never in vast numbers. Where did you take this? My other encounter was in the Ntional Library, where I spent a wonderful morning with a folder of Ellis Rowan originals.

    Like

  5. Incredible! The form, shape of it! Strange looking – never seen it before. Thank you for introducing us.
    Size?

    Like

  6. What a lovely rich colour 🙂

    Like

  7. Such an exotic flower… I am behind this week so will miss this weeks.. My carrots will have to suffice I think LOL I will be back later to catch up with more of your postings Pauline.. I just caught this in the reader xxx Love and Hugs Sue

    Like

  8. Love the colour! But that shape . . . leaves me shaking me head in wonderment!
    Thank you for such a ……. er, different flower! 😍

    Like

  9. How fabulous! I have heard of these and may even have seen them wild in the outback, but not in close-up. A field of them must be magnificent.

    Like

  10. Fabulous colour and again so exotic looking!

    Like

  11. Pauline, I really think that is the strangest flower I’ve ever seen. Nevertheless, it’s a glorious colour.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. your pictures amaze me every week! I’ll for sure remember the name of this beauty, thanks for introducing it!

    Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Tish Farrell

Writer on the Edge

Postcards from Ian and Margaret

We are a couple of retirees, I started this blog as record of our caravan trips. However I have expanded it to include other travel adventures.

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

suesilver

poems, commentary and photography

The Sacred Cave

Slowing down to notice the present moment...

Igor Bilek

"Life is an adventure, not a package tour" ~ Eckhart Tolle ~

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

fulltimelayabout

Photos of my home town

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

ishooteditnblog

Every picture has a story to tell

Memories are made of this

I need photos to keep my memories alive

soitgoes1

Just another WordPress.com site

the vibes

Dreams of a Free Spirit

livingforcreativity

Living a life of creativity, via music, books and films.

In My View

The world as I see it -- by R C Norman

endeavor

my journal of creative expression

