Wild Weekly Photo Challenge : Mountains

Australia is mainly a country of sweeping plains and endless vistas, but round the edges we have some rather spectacular mountains.

The Great Dividing Range runs along the east coast and at the southern end the Snowy Mountains loom up. When we crossed them a bush fire had raged through and left the land scorched and devoid of trees, the scenery was stark and rugged but made beautiful subject for aerial perspective.

In the opposite corner, the north-west, there are the Kimberly’s. Hidden in the heart of this mountain range are the Bungles. Only discovered by Europeans in the 1980’s. Of course the Aboriginal people had known and worshipped them as a sacred place for thousands of years. These are now called our “last great wilderness”  and they are spectacular.

The fly over and then the walk among the domes of the Bungles and into Cathedral Cove I rate in the top three experiences on my journey around Australia.

So here is a gallery of photos I took of these two mountain areas.

This week, we’re challenging you to take inspiration from the mountains! If you happen to live in an area totally devoid of altitude, even moderate hills will do!

On Wednesday, April 24th (at 2pm EST, so be sure to submit your entries before that time, even at 1:59pm!) we’ll choose 1 judge’s choice winner, 5 runner ups, and 1 audience choice winner & share their entries here on LetsBeWild.com, announcing the winners by the following day! Send your friends to this page to leave a comment-vote for your entry to win the audience choice award!

This on-line travel magazine now provides an excellent photography course for both beginners and more advanced photographers. It has quality information and  if you click here you can check it out for yourself, and it is FREE…

Categories: Australia, Bungle Bungle, mountains, photos, Wild Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , | 27 Comments

Post navigation

27 thoughts on “Wild Weekly Photo Challenge : Mountains

  1. I’m surrounded by mountains at the moment – so incredibly majestic! I love these pics 😀

    Like

  2. I love these pictures. I’d be hard put to it to find even a nominal hill here, so no photos to share. ;-(
    I grew up near the Rockies in BC and I remember when I first went to Victoria, BC, hearing of ‘Mount Doug’ and ‘Mount Tolmie’. Friends took me to see them one day and I laughed so hard, I’m sure I hurt their feelings. I could climb either of those in less than a half hour. But it’s all relative . . . ~ Linne

    Like

    • Thank you for your comment Linne and sharing your memories.
      The Rockies are an amazing range of mountains. Did you do any tramping in them when you lived nearby?

      Like

  3. poppytump

    Lovely places of wilderness PP how fantastic you have been able to enjoy such beauties …

    Like

  4. Good choice of subjects, thanks, recalls wonderful memories.

    Like

  5. superb range of pictures..

    Like

  6. Sighhhhh. Travel. I am straight-up jealous.

    Like

  7. You certainly do find the most beautiful spots in your world, Pauline. I like Jack in the river bed best – amazing bungles and beautiful blue sky.

    Like

    • Hi Maddie Jack appreciates your comment. During the wet season that is a raging river that has created those formations. You can only get into this area for a few months in the dry season

      Like

  8. these are stunning

    Like

  9. We had a lovely few days around the a three sisters and the blue mountains when we were there. Even did the cable car! Beautiful country you’ve got there!

    Like

  10. Sandra

    both beautiful ranges but so different from each other; I love the pics of Mt Hotham with the flower meadow in the foreground.
    ps I thought you might be interested to know that there was an item on ‘Breakfast’ on BBC yesterday featuring Bishop Burton Agricultural College about the increase in women from non farming backgrounds taking up farming as a career….I thought of you and how you must have been a bit of a trail blazer in those days, it was quite interesting to watch.

    Like

  11. absolutely awesome pictures !!!!

    Like

  12. Oh my, how stunning are these!

    Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Wandering Teresa

Welcome to my creative corner! Here, I share my photos, travel stories, random thoughts, and a bit of myself.

Something to Ponder About

Musings on Life - Creative Writing - The Environment

JO LAMBERT

WRITER OF WEST COUNTRY ROMANCE AND ROMANTIC SUSPENSE

Traveller Interrupted

In Pursuit of Uninterrupted Freedom

Poppytump@No4

loving life in the slow lane ... still finding my way with photography and painting :)

bushboys world

Photos of my world and other stuff I hope you will enjoy too. Photos taken with Canon PowershotSX70HS Photos can be purchased.

Still Restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

Touring My Backyard

Rediscovering Singapore

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

Margaret Hall Fine Art

A WORLD OF COLOUR

A wonderful sheep

Navigating the creative seas

Curls n Skirls

del's sewing stuff

anotherdayinparadise

Travels in Paradise

poppytump@no4

Photography and Sketching ... Observations ...

wordsandimages

here, there and other places

Brizzy Mays Books and Bruschetta

Predominately Books But Other Stuff Too

The Eternal Traveller

Remembering past journeys, recording current trips and planning for the next one!