More on geotagging…

I was very frustrated yesterday as I could not get the geotagging to work. So I went to the forum area to find some answers. This is a very helpful section of WordPress were you can ask questions and then wait for some one to come up with an answer.

I had two answers to my query.

“Where is public geo data exposed?
Geotagged posts get marked up with the geo microformat, geo.position and ICBM meta tags, and GeoRSS and W3C geodata in feeds. All of this stuff is “machine readable”, not “human readable”; it’s hidden from view.

We’ll soon be launching a bunch of human readable stuff like theme integration, widgets, shortcodes, maps, etc.”

Ok, right….this was my reply

Thanks for reply 1tess,
sorry I do not understand the answer…
Does it mean I can not insert maps yet until you have launched the other “human readable” things?

I then went to bed. This morning I had another look in “forums” and found another response…

It means that if you put in the geotagging data, only search engines and such can see it. Humans can’t.

Staff say they are working on getting maps in there, but right now it doesn’t work.

You could try the Platial mapkit widget, or just put in a Google map according to the instructions in the Support documents.

This is the magic of the internet and WWW at work. WordPress community is a very helpful and supportive group to belong to.

I will try and see if I can work out how to put in a google maps. But enough for one day I must now get a coffee…

Categories: geotagging, Wordpress lessons learnt | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Wandering Teresa

Welcome to my creative corner! Here, I share my photos, travel stories, random thoughts, and a bit of myself.

Something to Ponder About

Musings on Life - Creative Writing - The Environment

JO LAMBERT

WRITER OF WEST COUNTRY ROMANCE AND ROMANTIC SUSPENSE

Traveller Interrupted

In Pursuit of Uninterrupted Freedom

Poppytump@No4

loving life in the slow lane ... still finding my way with photography and painting :)

bushboys world

Photos of my world and other stuff I hope you will enjoy too. Photos taken with Canon PowershotSX70HS Photos can be purchased.

Still Restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

Touring My Backyard

Rediscovering Singapore

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

Margaret Hall Fine Art

A WORLD OF COLOUR

A wonderful sheep

Navigating the creative seas

Curls n Skirls

del's sewing stuff

anotherdayinparadise

Travels in Paradise

poppytump@no4

Photography and Sketching ... Observations ...

wordsandimages

here, there and other places

Brizzy Mays Books and Bruschetta

Predominately Books But Other Stuff Too

The Eternal Traveller

Remembering past journeys, recording current trips and planning for the next one!