Eggs, eggs and more eggs

6 dozen+ eggs

6 dozen+ eggs

I am totally overwhelmed with eggs. The girls are doing a sterling job and I collect from 6 to 11 every day. Just how many egg meals can you have in a week? Poached, boiled, scrambled, omelette, frittatas, I have even started baking cakes, much to Jack’s delight.

In desperation I went to Google, that know-all depository of the computer world. I typed in “how to use lots of eggs” it came up with 34 MILLION results in 24 seconds. Now that is a lot of people with surplus eggs…

This was one of my favourites

Impossible Pie

  •  4 eggs (I used 6 small bantam eggs)
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 cup coconut
  • 2 tsp van ess

Mix all together, pour into large pie pan or casserole. Bake 180C approx. 45 minutes.

That is very easy to make and it forms a delicious custardy centre under a coconutty topping. Yummy….

I would appreciate any suggestions for using lots of eggs.

Sitting on the feed bin, waiting for breakfast

Sitting on the feed bin, waiting for breakfast

 

Come and get it girls

Come and get it girls

I love to watch how the cockerels take care of their harem, calling them over to the choice food

I love to watch how the cockerels take care of their harem, calling them over to the choice food

 

Well after all that work it is time to relax with a book in the hammock

Well after all that work it is time to relax with a book in the hammock

 

and watch the tomatoes growing.

and watch the tomatoes growing.

 

 

 

 

Categories: Atherton Tableland, Australia, chickens, eggs, house sitting, photos | Tags: , , , , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Eggs, eggs and more eggs

  1. oh pomme – mmmmm – that’s a lot of eggs!

    I would have been making some quiche – but the pie recipe you found sounds like a great custard.

    Like

    • It was a good time there. I don’t usually do much baking, after all what you bake you eat and more of it when it is your own stuff!!! And I really do not need all that extra food…. I do cook a lot of quiche and frittata it is one of my favourite standbys.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. poppytump

    What great outdoor space !
    Super chookers PP 🙂

    Like

    • I’m living the good life again Poppy, all be it only for 4 months, but who knows what the next place will bring. Those chooks are so cute I love the contented chuckles and crooning noises they make.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yaz

    Pancakes, quiches, curried recipes…http://www.sanjeevkapoor.com/Main-Course-Egg.aspx
    or if you dont like curry, http://www.incredibleegg.org/recipes.

    Like

    • Thanks Yaz for passing on the links, I’ve been for a quick look and look forward to trying them. Jack makes a really good banana pancake

      Like

  4. oh I love eggs! one of my favourite desserts uses three eggs … Lemon delicious Pudding … you should try it 😀

    Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Wandering Teresa

Welcome to my creative corner! Here, I share my photos, travel stories, random thoughts, and a bit of myself.

Something to Ponder About

Musings on Life - Creative Writing - The Environment

JO LAMBERT

WRITER OF WEST COUNTRY ROMANCE AND ROMANTIC SUSPENSE

Traveller Interrupted

In Pursuit of Uninterrupted Freedom

Poppytump@No4

loving life in the slow lane ... still finding my way with photography and painting :)

bushboys world

Photos of my world and other stuff I hope you will enjoy too. Photos taken with Canon PowershotSX70HS Photos can be purchased.

Still Restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

Touring My Backyard

Rediscovering Singapore

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

Margaret Hall Fine Art

A WORLD OF COLOUR

A wonderful sheep

Navigating the creative seas

Curls n Skirls

del's sewing stuff

anotherdayinparadise

Travels in Paradise

poppytump@no4

Photography and Sketching ... Observations ...

wordsandimages

here, there and other places

Brizzy Mays Books and Bruschetta

Predominately Books But Other Stuff Too

The Eternal Traveller

Remembering past journeys, recording current trips and planning for the next one!