Lingering Look at Windows : More of Malanda

 

MalandaMalanda

We would once have qualified, but Jack did not have his “happy pants” on today so we went in the front door. (You can see in the top photo that this shop/hang-out for hippies is on the opposite side of the road from the Spar supermarket.) Once inside it was an Aladdin’s cave of colour and scents, candles and gem stones and once a week they hold meditation sessions that all are welcome to attend.

Malanda

Malanda

Another interesting small shop tucked away at the end of the pub. It is also a book exchange.

The butchers shop. Just look at those interesting reflections

The butcher’s shop. Just look at those interesting reflections

Every time I go into Malanda to do my shopping I find more to look at. How lucky we are to be sharing this part of Australia for a few months.

This post is inspired by the challenge from Dawn of “the day after” to show off windows we have found on our travels. Visit her post to see more windows bloggers from round the world have found to show us

Categories: Atherton Tableland, Australia, Lingering look at windows, Malanda, photos | Tags: , , , , | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “Lingering Look at Windows : More of Malanda

  1. Malanda looks awesome! So colourful – just up my street 🙂 I’m glad I’ve found you, it’s so great to find others in the Baby Boomer arena. It seems as if you’ve lived an interesting life and I look forward to reading more.

    Like

    • G’day Jo, I’m pleased you’ve visited my blog and I look forward to your future visits. I actually pre-date the Boomer era by about 4 years, in fact my children are just on the outer fringes of being Baby Boomers (I believe it went from 1946 to 1964…) I’ve also heard that 50 is now the new 40, so that must mean that 70 is now the new 60, I can liv with that…

      I agree with you older is definitely not sitting and knitting in the old rocking chair any more, but rocking and rolling till the end…

      Like

  2. snapitures

    The Closet Hippie – now that’s my kind of shop! I have that exact sign by my back door at home. How neat!

    Like

    • Yes real shades of flower power. Remember those days?

      Like

      • snapitures

        Indeed, but through retrospect – I was born around the time it began so was very young during it all but my aunt was right in the midst of it and filled me with wonder on what I was too young to experience. I guess I’m a naturally born hippie and I fly my freak flag proudly. 😉

        Like

  3. Yaz

    What a lovely blog! I loved these windows and more, I love how you see beauty in such things and capture it on camera.

    Like

  4. I love that hippies use the back door window, sorry but that’s my favorite, lol.

    Like

  5. Hours of fun! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  6. My kind of shop, beautiful and colourful, thank you for sharing and taking us through its doors, 🙂
    Sue xox

    Like

  7. Love the hippy shop, so much colour! The butchers window reminds me of a fish and chip establishment I used to frequent in England many years ago.

    Like

  8. A fascinating look at the windows of Malanda. Love the Hippies sign. 😆

    Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Wandering Teresa

Welcome to my creative corner! Here, I share my photos, travel stories, random thoughts, and a bit of myself.

Something to Ponder About

Musings on Life - Creative Writing - The Environment

JO LAMBERT

WRITER OF WEST COUNTRY ROMANCE AND ROMANTIC SUSPENSE

Traveller Interrupted

In Pursuit of Uninterrupted Freedom

Poppytump@No4

loving life in the slow lane ... still finding my way with photography and painting :)

bushboys world

Photos of my world and other stuff I hope you will enjoy too. Photos taken with Canon PowershotSX70HS Photos can be purchased.

Still Restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

Touring My Backyard

Rediscovering Singapore

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

Margaret Hall Fine Art

A WORLD OF COLOUR

A wonderful sheep

Navigating the creative seas

Curls n Skirls

del's sewing stuff

anotherdayinparadise

Travels in Paradise

poppytump@no4

Photography and Sketching ... Observations ...

wordsandimages

here, there and other places

Brizzy Mays Books and Bruschetta

Predominately Books But Other Stuff Too

The Eternal Traveller

Remembering past journeys, recording current trips and planning for the next one!