Travel Theme : Brown

The wide brown land

The wide brown land

My Country

The love of field and coppice, of green and shaded lanes,

Of ordered woods and gardens Is running in your veins.

Strong love of grey-blue distance, brown streams and soft, dim skies

I know, but cannot share it, my love is otherwise.
I love a sunburnt country,

A land of sweeping plains,

Of ragged mountain ranges,

Of droughts and flooding rains.

I love her far horizons,

I love her jewel-sea,

Her beauty and her terror

The wide brown land for me!
The stark white ring-barked forests, all tragic to the moon,

 The sapphire-misted mountains, the hot gold hush of noon,

Green tangle of the brushes where lithe lianas coil,

And orchids deck the tree-tops, And ferns the warm dark soil.
Core of my heart, my country!

Her pitiless blue sky,

When, sick at heart, around us We see the cattle die

But then the grey clouds gather,

And we can bless again The drumming of an army, The steady soaking rain.
Core of my heart, my country! Land of the rainbow gold,

For flood and fire and famine She pays us back threefold.

Over the thirsty paddocks, Watch, after many days,

The filmy veil of greenness That thickens as we gaze …
An opal-hearted country, A wilful, lavish land All you who have not loved her, You will not understand though Earth holds many splendours,

Wherever I may die, I know to what brown country My homing thoughts will fly.

Dorothea Mackeller

***************************

Ailsa from “Where’s my backpack” gave us the theme “BROWN” this week. I knew immediately how I pictured brown. I live in Australia and the beautiful poem written by Dorothea Mackellar, My Country, speaks so eloquently of her yearning for this “wide brown land” when she lived in England and longed to come home to her country.

I was born in England but now I call Australia home

This song always moves me and brings a lump to my throat.

I have travelled far and wide through this great land and the hard drive on the computer is full of images, many of them brown. It was a difficult decision choosing just a few, but here is a gallery of  Australia in all its shades of brown.

Categories: Australia, brown, photos, travel theme | Tags: , , , | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “Travel Theme : Brown

  1. There are so many photos you’ve given us that are breathtaking. I could never choose just one. I think they’re are perfect for the challenge and a feast for our eyes.
    Incredible shots captured ….

    Like

  2. You chose well.

    Like

  3. Beautiful photos of your chosen country, Pommepal. So many different shades of brown, it’s difficult to choose a favourite pic, but the Karijini pool and the cute Tawny Frogmouth bird, really took my fancy. 🙂

    Like

    • That tawny frogmouth was so hard to spot, he sat very still. Karijini was one of my favourite places on our trip around Aus

      Like

  4. Great set of browns, Pommepal 🙂

    Like

  5. poppytump

    Such intense browns all the way from chocolate coloured cattle to sun dried ancient rocks PP .
    Wonderful warmth here not just in your pictures, but how you view what has become YOUR homeland now .

    Like

    • Thanks Poppy I still feel an attachment to “The Mother Country” as my birth place. I would love to come back for a visit. Last visit was 1990/91 when I spent a full year there. I revelled in all the seasons.

      Like

  6. a really fabulous rich trip around the browns of our great country … in my post I also referred tot he ‘wide brown land’! You have captured some wonderful pics of our indigenous people … well done 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you Christine it is a great country we live in, despite the challenge of fire, flood and drought and all the other extreme weather conditions

      Like

  7. I love brown! 🙂

    Like

  8. Pingback: Brown | Four Deer Oak

  9. Brings back a lot of wonderful memories, all good. 🙂

    Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Wandering Teresa

Welcome to my creative corner! Here, I share my photos, travel stories, random thoughts, and a bit of myself.

Something to Ponder About

Musings on Life - Creative Writing - The Environment

JO LAMBERT

WRITER OF WEST COUNTRY ROMANCE AND ROMANTIC SUSPENSE

Traveller Interrupted

In Pursuit of Uninterrupted Freedom

Poppytump@No4

loving life in the slow lane ... still finding my way with photography and painting :)

bushboys world

Photos of my world and other stuff I hope you will enjoy too. Photos taken with Canon PowershotSX70HS Photos can be purchased.

Still Restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

Touring My Backyard

Rediscovering Singapore

anna warren portfolio

looking for beauty in the small things

Margaret Hall Fine Art

A WORLD OF COLOUR

A wonderful sheep

Navigating the creative seas

Curls n Skirls

del's sewing stuff

anotherdayinparadise

Travels in Paradise

poppytump@no4

Photography and Sketching ... Observations ...

wordsandimages

here, there and other places

Brizzy Mays Books and Bruschetta

Predominately Books But Other Stuff Too

The Eternal Traveller

Remembering past journeys, recording current trips and planning for the next one!