7 Day’s of Nature Photography : Day 5…

The next street over from where I live is called Banksia Broadway and amazingly, last year, the council in their wisdom (?) decided to plant Banksia trees as streetscape specimens. Now I love the Banksia and in a bushland setting they are superb but as they get older they tend to be rather scruffy and quite high maintenance. But now these neighbourhood trees are into their second year they have just started to flower. They stopped me in my tracks as I biked past. I just had to take a photo.

sunrise burleigh heads walk pc 196

Gilly (Lucid Gypsy) nominated me for this challenge and now into my 5th day I would like to pass the baton onto Sue (Dreamwalker’s garden). Sue has a beautiful garden and her allotment is a sight to be seen with all the vegetables she produces. Coming into spring I’m sure you will have lots of nature photos to show us Sue. Hope you can find the time to fit this challenge in.

Categories: 7 day nature photo challenge, banksia, photos | Tags: , , , | 23 Comments

Post navigation

23 thoughts on “7 Day’s of Nature Photography : Day 5…

  1. True enough. Just hope there weren’t any of those nasty banksia men hiding nearby. 🙂

    Maybe the council will replace them on a regular basis?

    Like

  2. Pingback: 7 Day’s of Nature Photography~Day 7 Chatsworth & Derbyshire | Dreamwalker's Garden

  3. Pingback: 7 Day’s of Nature Photography Day 6 ~ Chatsworth Derbyshire | Dreamwalker's Garden

  4. Pingback: 7 Day’s of Nature Photography~ Day 5 Chatsworth Derbyshire | Dreamwalker's Garden

  5. Pingback: 7 Day’s of Nature Photography~ Day 4 Chatsworth Derbyshire | Dreamwalker's Garden

  6. Pingback: 7 Days of Nature Photography~ Day 3 Chatsworth Derbyshire | Dreamwalker's Garden

  7. Thank you Pauline for the nomination I will do my best.. 🙂 I always love seeing your amazing plants that I never would have known existed 🙂 Many thanks for thinking of me.. 🙂

    Like

  8. I agree about Banksias, they look lovely when they are flowering, but when it is really hot and they are getting older, they look very scraggy.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. What an interesting looking plant! What do the flowers look like or is that the flower you photographed? 💙🎨🌈

    Like

  10. d.

    There are now plenty of dwarf and even ground-cover banksias that they could use, if they thought about it! When these are opening up for pollination, remember to go and smell them.

    Like

    • Is this the Banksia serrate, old man banksia? I thought it was and if it is this is what Wikipedia says, “Commonly growing as a gnarled tree up to 15 m (50 ft) in height, it can be much smaller in more exposed areas” I will remember to smell them. How are your banksias and other cut flowers going?

      Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Tish Farrell

Writer on the Edge

Postcards from Ian and Margaret

We are a couple of retirees, I started this blog as record of our caravan trips. However I have expanded it to include other travel adventures.

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

suesilver

poems, commentary and photography

The Sacred Cave

Slowing down to notice the present moment...

Igor Bilek

"Life is an adventure, not a package tour" ~ Eckhart Tolle ~

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

fulltimelayabout

Photos of my home town

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

ishooteditnblog

Every picture has a story to tell

Memories are made of this

I need photos to keep my memories alive

soitgoes1

Just another WordPress.com site

the vibes

Dreams of a Free Spirit

livingforcreativity

Living a life of creativity, via music, books and films.

In My View

The world as I see it -- by R C Norman

endeavor

my journal of creative expression

