A Mid Winter walk in a Botanic Garden???…

On Jude’s second blog site, “The earth laughs in flowers” she has started a new series/challenge.

“Welcome to the first month of the Garden Photo Challenge. This challenge is designed to challenge ourselves with the type of photos we take in and around a garden.”

For January the theme is “Winter”. Now here in Australia we are in the middle of an unusually coolish summer (but this could change at any time). Even winter is warm. So I’ve looked through my archives and found that it was our mid-winter, July, when I visited the Botanic Gardens in my home town, the Gold Coast. So here is my interpretation of winter down under in a re-blog of a previous post.

I’m going to enjoy this series, pop over and have a look, you may have something  more traditionally winterish from your part of the world.

gypsy life

GC botanic garden_1984x1488

The Gold Coast Botanic Gardens were established in 2003. When I first visited in 2006 it was still in the developing stages. Since then I’ve visited many Botanic Gardens all round Australia, so it is time I went back to see how our own Botanic Garden compares. 

I was disappointed. This is a lovely parkland with a large lake system and board walks crisscrossing them. But look closer and the water ways are clogged with the invasive Salvinia weed.

There were large grassed areas, ideal for picnics and play areas. It was the school holidays and families were enjoying the beautiful sunny day. Children were running, biking, riding scooters and having a great time.

GC botanic garden-32_3474x2926

GC botanic garden-16_3520x2594

Notice the Salvinia on this part of the lake? It could easily be mistaken for an extension of the lawn area.

GC botanic garden-24_3817x2863

Further round the water was clear of the weed and look at the reflections.

GC botanic garden-23_3808x2847

GC botanic garden-25_3000x4000

GC botanic garden-17_2737x3158

Swans, moorhens…

View original post 333 more words

Categories: travel | 18 Comments

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “A Mid Winter walk in a Botanic Garden???…

  1. Love those captures of reflections… Beautiful share.. ❤

    Like

  2. Love your reflections and the gorgeous black swans!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a pretty location. That first photo should be a movie setting – or at least on a postcard. 🙂 Very nice, Pauline.

    Like

  4. Boy, would I love to have winter like this! Looks like a beautiful place!

    Like

  5. I remember this one (the reflections) and as I sit here looking at the rain once more lashing down on my windows, I sigh. How wonderful to have a winter like yours. I just feel trapped indoors during our winters. Still, no bad thing at the moment. Things to do… 🙂
    Thank you PP for being the first one to enter the new challenge!

    Like

  6. Goodness, winter in the Southern Hemisphere is to be envied!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The salvinia does look like its part of the lawn, what a difference where its clear of it. Such a tranquil place I’d be happy there.

    Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Tish Farrell

Writer on the Edge

Postcards from Ian and Margaret

We are a couple of retirees, I started this blog as record of our caravan trips. However I have expanded it to include other travel adventures.

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

suesilver

poems, commentary and photography

The Sacred Cave

Slowing down to notice the present moment...

Igor Bilek

"Life is an adventure, not a package tour" ~ Eckhart Tolle ~

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

fulltimelayabout

Photos of my home town

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

ishooteditnblog

Every picture has a story to tell

Memories are made of this

I need photos to keep my memories alive

soitgoes1

Just another WordPress.com site

the vibes

Dreams of a Free Spirit

livingforcreativity

Living a life of creativity, via music, books and films.

In My View

The world as I see it -- by R C Norman

endeavor

my journal of creative expression

