A Flower a Week #2 : Bat Plant

Batplant

Bat Plant

This week I have chosen to show you this spectacular Bat Plant. It is one of the most unusual  flowers in my garden and flowers during the hot tropical summer months, but as I won’t be home when it is flowering I am showing you one from last season.

Tacca chantrieri

Common Names: Bat Flower, Black Bat Flower, Cats Whiskers, Devil Flower, Bat Head Lily, Bat Plant, Devil’s Tongue, Black Tacca, Jews Beard, Voodoo Flower.

****************

Nalinki on “Angles and views” is hosting a weekly series called: “Flowersoverflowers”, it will be posted every Tuesday. The idea is to bring some more colorful pics of nature into our blogosphere.

Categories: a flower a week, Bat Plant, flowersoverflowers | Tags: , , , | 33 Comments

Post navigation

33 thoughts on “A Flower a Week #2 : Bat Plant

  1. That is extraordinary, Pauline! And a fine photo 🙂

    Like

  2. I haven’t seen one of these before, Pauline. It’s awesome! 😀

    Like

  3. A very different looking flower, Pauline. I think you could have used this pic for the ‘Creepy’ WP challenge. 🙂

    Like

  4. this is amazing. I would ´love to have a bat flower in my garden

    Like

  5. Spectacular indeed.. and one I had not seen before 🙂

    Like

  6. The clarity of that photo is spectacular – the light on leaves and petals, and every “peculiarity” displayed to perfection. Why did you choose to call it bat plant from so many options??

    Like

  7. How beautiful I desperately want one!

    Like

  8. I’ve never seen one of these before. Now I can see the bat face and the ears. It’s well named. 🙂

    Like

  9. Stunningly gawjus – thank you!!!

    Like

  10. Lyn n David @ Meow-landa

    Truly magnificent photo. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  11. Oh wow! I think this could have been used in the ‘creepy’ challenge too!

    Like

  12. What a wonderfully exotic flower, Pauline. I can definitely understand the Cat’s Whiskers name, as well as Voodoo Flower!

    Like

  13. An amazing looking plant -so tropical and exotic!

    Like

  14. Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Easy to see why some call it Cat’s Whiskers, Pauline. What an unusual plant. And of course, now I’m wondering where you’re off to 🙂

    Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Tish Farrell

Writer on the Edge

Postcards from Ian and Margaret

We are a couple of retirees, I started this blog as record of our caravan trips. However I have expanded it to include other travel adventures.

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

suesilver

poems, commentary and photography

The Sacred Cave

Slowing down to notice the present moment...

Igor Bilek

"Life is an adventure, not a package tour" ~ Eckhart Tolle ~

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

fulltimelayabout

Photos of my home town

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

ishooteditnblog

Every picture has a story to tell

Memories are made of this

I need photos to keep my memories alive

soitgoes1

Just another WordPress.com site

the vibes

Dreams of a Free Spirit

livingforcreativity

Living a life of creativity, via music, books and films.

In My View

The world as I see it -- by R C Norman

endeavor

my journal of creative expression

