Travel Theme : Wild Wind

Queensland is the sunshine state, beautiful one day, perfect the next.

Pelican Lake pc 013_4000x3000

The lake at the end of my street is placid, with just a few ripples to ruffle the surface and the air is still.

But Australia has a capricious weather system and it can show its violent side.

Pelican lake after storm pc 012_3264x2448

 The storm clouds can roll in from the distant hinterland, dark and foreboding. The wind builds and boils to a ferocious storm.

In the garden the palm fronds bend and twist in a frantic dance to the accompaniment of the wind and lashing rain.

storm jan 2013 jc2 003_3072x2304

Branches snap and fall unable to withstand the cyclonic force of nature.

At the beach the ocean is whipped into a frenzy of foam and spray.

ocean and experimental shots 020_4000x2664

The Pandanus tree, unable to bear the destructive winds, topple and fall.

storm jan 2013 pc 010_3264x2448

This country is subject to intense changes in weather patterns and Ailsa’s “wind” theme made me think of the storms that occasionally lash our coast with disastrous consequences.

Categories: Australia, photos, Queensland, storms, travel theme, wind | Tags: , , , , , | 29 Comments

Post navigation

29 thoughts on “Travel Theme : Wild Wind

  1. Now this is what I like! Lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. extreme weather you have! great captures for the challenge! 🙂

    Like

  3. I don’t mind the rain, but I hate the wind (living in a cyclone area doesn’t really help my fears). That video reminds me of the torrid times! Well done 😉

    Like

  4. Gosh, Pauline. Wild wind indeed.

    Like

  5. I loved watching the video of the storm, Pauline. I hope you stood inside to capture that! It looks very ferocious indeed. Stay dry! 🙂

    Like

    • I stood under the deck so didn’t get soaked. That storm was back in 2013 and it was a bad one lots of flooding, fortunately not in our area.

      Like

  6. A great overview of your changing weather – we’re all getting more extremes as the climate changes. I never realized how tropical Queensland is.

    Like

  7. This theme was calling out for video: you really caught a spectacular blow. The sea shot is splendid too, and the way you make a mini-narrative.

    (Did you feel tremors the other day?)

    Like

    • No we were at the son’s place and round the lunch table with every one talking at once, 5 Grand Children, 4 adults. We were told about it when we arrived home. Did you feel it out your way?

      Like

  8. I’d be very happy in the heat but I can’t stand rain!

    Like

    • We often also get long dry spells Gilly and then the garden, and me, appreciate the rain. But often, unfortunately, it doesn’t know how to stop and goes from one extreme to the other.

      Like

  9. You do get some extreme weather over there PP. I love hearing the rain in the tropics coming down on a tin roof. Not so nice when the wind rips that roof away though…

    Like

  10. Crikey, Pauline, that looks serious….

    Like

  11. Some interesting times you’ve lived through, Pauline. Great photos and video.

    Like

  12. Great insight in your weather system!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. That’s our Qld! Love that video PP – so very familiar.

    Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Tish Farrell

Writer on the Edge

Postcards from Ian and Margaret

We are a couple of retirees, I started this blog as record of our caravan trips. However I have expanded it to include other travel adventures.

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

suesilver

poems, commentary and photography

The Sacred Cave

Slowing down to notice the present moment...

Igor Bilek

"Life is an adventure, not a package tour" ~ Eckhart Tolle ~

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

fulltimelayabout

Photos of my home town

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

ishooteditnblog

Every picture has a story to tell

Memories are made of this

I need photos to keep my memories alive

soitgoes1

Just another WordPress.com site

the vibes

Dreams of a Free Spirit

livingforcreativity

Living a life of creativity, via music, books and films.

In My View

The world as I see it -- by R C Norman

endeavor

my journal of creative expression

