A walk in a Botanic Garden???…

GC botanic garden_1984x1488

The Gold Coast Botanic Gardens were established in 2003. When I first visited in 2006 it was still in the developing stages. Since then I’ve visited many Botanic Gardens all round Australia, so it is time I went back to see how our own Botanic Garden compares. 

I was disappointed. This is a lovely parkland with a large lake system and board walks crisscrossing them. But look closer and the water ways are clogged with the invasive Salvinia weed.

 

There were large grassed areas, ideal for picnics and play areas. It was the school holidays and families were enjoying the beautiful sunny day. Children were running, biking, riding scooters and having a great time.

GC botanic garden-32_3474x2926

GC botanic garden-16_3520x2594

Notice the Salvinia on this part of the lake? It could easily be mistaken for an extension of the lawn area.

GC botanic garden-24_3817x2863

Further round the water was clear of the weed and look at the reflections.

GC botanic garden-23_3808x2847

GC botanic garden-25_3000x4000

GC botanic garden-17_2737x3158

Swans, moorhens and ducks enjoyed this part of the lake system.

GC botanic garden-6_3000x4000

GC botanic garden-7_3691x2768

A few attractive sculptures of native animals and birds were dotted around.

Further round a sensory garden with raised beds was a riot of colour for sight, another had a herb bed for smell. But it all seemed a bit uncoördinated and also needed some maintenance. Maybe I am being a bit unfair as it is winter and not the best time to view gardens.

GC botanic garden-27_3931x2948

Tucked away at the back of the gardens I found the fountain… I did my best to take a decent photo, but I don’t think I succeeded. It was not very inspiring.

GC botanic garden-9_3000x4000

I found a bench (actually there were a lot of benches dotted around the lakes) and I sat for a while thinking about these gardens. Am I being biased by all the other gardens I have seen? Maybe. Somehow it just doesn’t seem to qualify for the “Botanic” tag. It is a lovely “park” and fits the criteria for that label. But there isn’t that extra attention to detail, not many plants and trees labelled, no unique areas of special plant collections. As for the café, oh dear… I didn’t even take a photo. It was squashed onto a narrow deck around the side of the small information building. Only 4 small tables and hardly any room to squeeze past each table. Thankfully I had brought along a thermos and sandwiches…

GC botanic garden-10_4000x3000

Despite being disappointed with how the gardens have developed it was still a pleasant days outing. I think I will come again in another season. October/November is the best time for sub-tropical gardens, before the heat of summer sets in.

I was expecting to be more impressed. I think maybe the council do not think giving money for a Botanic Garden is very high on their list of priorities.

Come over to visit “Restless Jo” she is our intrepid leader and inspires people from all over the globe to join her cyber walking group each week.

Categories: Australia, Gold Coast Botanic Garden, Goldcoast, Jo's Monday walks, photos | Tags: , , , , | 34 Comments

Post navigation

34 thoughts on “A walk in a Botanic Garden???…

  1. Pingback: I’ve fallen in love with kangaroo paws | Living in Paradise…

  2. Reblogged this on gypsy life.

    Like

  3. Loved all of these Pauline.. especially the Tree reflections.. would make a good subject to paint. 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Lealholm to Glaisdale | restlessjo

  5. I know you said you were disappointed but if this is the winter version of the garden then the summer version must be spectacular.

    Like

    • I think I was comparing it with all the other, long established botanic gardens and, yes, winter is never the best time in a garden so I will go again in spring, October, November are the best months for sub tropical gardens.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Such an inspiring walk – wonderful captures… 🙂

    Like

  7. Wow Beautiful photos, if we had never been lucky enough to go there, then you have given us some great photos to view of it. Thanks

    Like

  8. The photos are beautiful but it is such a shame this place was less than impressive You’re right, the council should really put more money into a place that could be worth the visit and as ‘breathtaking’ as a lot of the botanic gardens in Australia.

    Like

    • Your Flecker Botanical Gardens are what I consider one of the best. I think the council do not consider the gardens are a tourist attraction… But they could be…

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Beautiful photos, Pauline. Love the Koala Bear sculptures, and your surreal reflection capture. 🙂

    Like

  10. Well, I do rather enjoy being an ‘intrepid leader’, thanks Pauline 🙂 I love your boardwalk shot of Jack and those great shadows. And there was some hot pink flowers in there that I liked 🙂 And a beaut tree reflection too! But the weed was way beyond being poetic and I guess all those lawns didn’t have much wow factor. But everyone was happy, and I would be too with a sunny day spent there.
    Many thanks for the link! Have a happy week 🙂

    Like

    • You have put just the interpretation I did on the day Jo. If I was just going for a day out in the park, as many families were, it was perfect. Lots of room to run and play for the kids. Shady trees to sit under and boardwalks to explore. BUT I was expecting more from a “Botanic” garden…

      Liked by 1 person

  11. It does look more like a family park than a botanic garden but still a nice place to stroll!

    Like

  12. Hard for me to comment as I haven’t been here, but I know what you mean about being disappointed. Maybe that is what comes from visiting too many gardens? My bench mark is RHS Wisley in Surrey which I love for many reasons and many gardens don;t come up to scratch. I think a botanic garden should have well-defined areas and I like to see plant names too, though not all do this. I’m more annoyed when I pay to enter a garden and find it lacking, but I assume this one is free to enter? It does look like a lovely space though and obviously a draw for families to enjoy. Your reflections photo is a work-of-art. I’d love that to hang on my wall 🙂

    Like

  13. well you certainly photographed them well, as every photo is lovely! i’m especially drawn to those stately trees – eucalyptus? and yes, perhaps the gardens were in a rest mode!

    Like

    • Thanks Lisa, yes they were mostly eucalypts and I will go again later in the year. If I am here of course…

      Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Out an' About

Loving Life On and Off the Tracks

Jill's Scene

A small town take on the big, wide world

olddogsnewtruck

putting down roots in Maine

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Tish Farrell

Writer on the Edge

Postcards from Ian and Margaret

We are a couple of retirees, I started this blog as record of our caravan trips. However I have expanded it to include other travel adventures.

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

suesilver

poems, commentary and photography

The Sacred Cave

Slowing down to notice the present moment...

Igor Bilek

"Life is an adventure, not a package tour" ~ Eckhart Tolle ~

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

fulltimelayabout

Photos of my home town

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

ishooteditnblog

Every picture has a story to tell

Memories are made of this

I need photos to keep my memories alive

soitgoes1

Just another WordPress.com site

