Black and White 5 Day challenge : #5

The 5 days of this challenge have flown by and it has been interesting searching through for images to convert. I really liked the old cars in monochrome so here are 3 more.

into nt jc 020 crop b&w_1422x912

In the middle of nowhere along the Nullabor Highway. This ute abandoned, burnt out and trashed. A sorry site.

Oakabella PC 035 b&w_3264x2448

This farm truck after a life of hard work also stripped and left to rust in a paddock, probably where it came to a stop.

Murry Bridge to Meningie 252 b&w_3264x2448

This old girl may get restored as I found it hunkered down in a barn at the Old Tailum Town Heritage Village. This was a fascinating place, visit the post I did about it here.

Finally one more scenic photo.

Mungo senic drive pc 053 b&w_3264x2448

I have enjoyed doing this challenge and for my last day I would like to invite Jo of “Restless Jo” to join in.

There are only two rules for this challenge:

1. On 5 consecutive days, create a post using either a past or recent photo in B&W.
2. Each day invite another blog friend to join in the fun.

Jo is a tireless traveller and her posts are a mixture of her descriptions of the amazing places she has visited and accompanied with great photos. She also hosts a Monday walking group inviting the cyber community to join her. Check it out you may have a place to take us to in your corner of the world.

So this is it. Thank you Gwennie of “Gwennies Garden” for nominating me to take part. I have enjoyed it.

Categories: 5 day b & w challenge, black and white, photos | Tags: , , | 46 Comments

Post navigation

46 thoughts on “Black and White 5 Day challenge : #5

  1. Pingback: Black and White 5 day Challenge- Day 5 | restlessjo

  2. Pingback: Six word Saturday | restlessjo

  3. Pingback: Black and White 5 day Challenge- Day 3 | restlessjo

  4. The cars are absolutely perfect for b&w – lovely!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Black and White 5 day Challenge- Day 1 | restlessjo

  6. Girl Gone Expat

    Great B&W photos of these old cars/trucks. Love the rustic feel, and making them B&W adds to the feel:)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. B&W really suits these old wrecks – it adds a rather mournful atmosphere to the shots

    Like

  8. Jude is right, we don’t get to see things like this over here. I find it a bit sad that they are left to decay even if they are photogenic!

    Like

    • I guess it is too far away from the car yards to dump them and to get a tow truck in would cost a fortune. Plenty of empty space out here!!!

      Like

  9. lovely pictures ! they really look like very old cars !

    Like

  10. The decrepit old utes are so photogenic, and look great in B&W. Good luck with trying to get Jo into monochrome. I think she’s very much a colour person. 🙂

    Like

  11. Lovely compilation – thank you for these B&W days!

    Like

  12. You found some buried treasures. 😉

    Like

  13. Jackie

    Like the B&W photo challenge… ☺

    Jackie Carroll |Compliance & Management Systems
    m +64 21 342766

    [Description: D:\TRANZLIQUID ADMIN\TEMPLATES\logo-tranzliquid.bmp]
    The bulk petroleum logistics experts
    Right product, right quantity, right tank – ON TIME- GUARANTEED!

    Web |www.tranzliquid.co.nz fb |facebook

    Like

  14. The perennial mystery – why are dilapidated and worn out so aesthetically pleasing? Even in human beings! You’ve really produced a vintage look with b&w. More please: maybe a frequent pairing of colour image and its b&w counterpart. I really enjoyed the way you presented the river shot.

    Like

    • Thank you Meg for this encouraging comment, I did enjoy this challenge. Something to think of in the future, but we will be travelling again soon so all challenges for me will end for a while

      Like

  15. I love old bangers like these, we don’t see this kind of thing here – far too little space to dump a car in the middle of nowhere and we don’t have these fantastic looking vehicles either. I loved finding a couple in the US and Canada, but must admit I like them in all their rusty-coloured glory best! I have enjoyed your black and whites – hope you’ll post more 🙂

    Like

  16. You’ve made a great job of the challenge, Pauline. I doubt I will do it justice and I certainly don’t have such interesting images as yours, but I don’t have a good excuse not to try. My apologies to Gilly at Lucid Gypsy, if she’s reading this, because I gave a vigorous shake of my head when she asked me if I’d like to be nominated. I was newly back from the Algarve with 101 things to do. Come to think of it- not much has changed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Excellent photo’s for this challenge!

    Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Tish Farrell

Writer on the Edge

Postcards from Ian and Margaret

We are a couple of retirees, I started this blog as record of our caravan trips. However I have expanded it to include other travel adventures.

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

suesilver

poems, commentary and photography

The Sacred Cave

Slowing down to notice the present moment...

Igor Bilek

"Life is an adventure, not a package tour" ~ Eckhart Tolle ~

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

fulltimelayabout

Photos of my home town

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

ishooteditnblog

Every picture has a story to tell

Memories are made of this

I need photos to keep my memories alive

soitgoes1

Just another WordPress.com site

the vibes

Dreams of a Free Spirit

livingforcreativity

Living a life of creativity, via music, books and films.

In My View

The world as I see it -- by R C Norman

endeavor

my journal of creative expression

