Royal Tasmanian Botanic Garden

What could top the flower show? A visit to the Botanic Gardens…
The Royal Tasmanian Botanic Gardens are just on the opposite side of the river. A short 15 minute bus ride over the Tasman Bridge.

Again it is a perfect day. I think you may be getting bored with my constant reference to the weather but every day I wake up and can hardly believe it when I look out of the window, blue skies, sunny and calm.

The gardens cover 14 hectares (34.6 acres) and were established in 1818. As I walk toward the entrance gate I am overwhelmed by the glory and colour of the many mature trees clothed in autumn splendour. They glow in the sun.

The first area I come to is the Japanese Garden. It is tranquil. It is a symphony of colour and form. There is the delicate red bridge arching over the gently rippling water way with the water cascading over the rocks. The stone paths meander past camelias, up steps, round corners, each turn presenting another vista of harmony. I am entranced. I am pleased I have a large memory card in the camera.

Suddenly the peace is shattered, scores of school children invade the area. They rush here and there, they chatter and laugh. I stand back and enjoy watching their antics. I think some of them actually look at and enjoy the views, most of them are just enjoying a day out of the confines of the classroom.

botanic gardens Tasmania 086_4000x3000

I walk on across perfect green lawns. Some rather strange sculptures catch my eye. Are they stacking wood to prepare for a harsh winter?

The wood pile...

The wood piles…

The description???

The description???

This is what the web page for the gardens has to say…

The sheltered, landscaped grounds of the Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens hold historic plant collections and a large number of significant trees, many dating from the nineteenth century.

It also has an increasing number of important conservation collections of Tasmanian plants and the world’s only Subantarctic Plant House.

Prior to European settlement local Aboriginal tribes used the site, and traces of their occupation are still apparent. A number of historic structures, including two convict-built walls, date back to the Gardens’ earliest days.

The Botanical Gardens Restaurant, in one of the loveliest locations for any restaurant in Tasmania, combines with an extensive program of activities and events as well as year-round displays combine to offer the visitor a great Tasmanian experience.

I spent 5 hours totally immersed in the wonder of this magnificent botanic garden. I took 255 photos, it was a photographers dream location. I tried to capture the grandeur of the huge mature trees and the vibrant colours of autumn. I scuffed my way through the leaves almost ankle-deep under the majestic oak trees and the sound took me back to the memory of my English child-hood.

I did not see all the areas so I will definately be visiting again before we go home.

It had been a fantastic day filled with memorable visions. As I left the gardens I looked across the road at the Tasman Bridge. The light was perfect and the reflections magical I had to catch them.

SO, I walked back over the bridge to the East side. I almost bit off more than I could chew. That bridge is quite long and has a steep camber. When I finally reached the east side I asked a cyclist which would be the shortest route to Eastlands, the shopping complex, I planned to pick up some groceries.

“Oh just follow this road, it goes round a couple of corners and over a hill” he said

Well I will just say I don’t plan to walk over the bridge again….

Tasman Bridge reflections

Tasman Bridge reflections

One large ship did bump into the structure and knocked one of the posts out of line

One large ship did bump into the structure and knocked one of the posts out of line

Oh dear where is the top? Notice no one else is walking...

Oh dear where is the top? Notice no one else is walking…

Kangaroo Bay Marina from the top of the bridge

Kangaroo Bay Marina from the top of the bridge

Categories: Australia, Hobart, photos, Tasmania, Tasmanian Botanic Gardens | Tags: , , , , | 21 Comments

Post navigation

21 thoughts on “Royal Tasmanian Botanic Garden

  1. Yup! A great garden – I shall have to have a read through the rest of your Tassie posts. Was this another house-sit then PP? Look out for a red bridge in my Monday post (on the flower blog) very similar to yours!
    Jude xx

    Like

    • Yes it was a 2 month house sit, a very good one too. I have just surfaced today, Monday, first thing I do is visit my blog, then have breakfast. Will check community blogs later, looking forward to a Monday walk with you, Jo and others. BTW it is a glorious sunny day over here… 🙂

      Like

  2. Joan and Terry Watson

    It all looks so clean and lovely, what good photos.

    Like

  3. poppytump

    I can well see you were captured with these gardens PP . That Japanese Garden is a riot of colour !

    Like

  4. What gorgeous colours in the Japanese garden.

    Like

    • I’m loving the autumn colours we don’t get them on the GC. Are you getting all excited about your trip?

      Like

  5. These pics are absolutely amazing! I’ve fallen in love with that Japanese garden 😀

    Like

  6. Wonderful, wonderful photos… accompanied by such a friendly commentary! This is obviously one more place to add to the list to visit if I ever manage to come to Tasmania!

    Like

    • Thank you for dropping by and leaving a comment. I am amazed at the beauty and friendliness down here. It is such a great place for taking photos. I believe the rest of Tasmania is just as beautiful

      Like

      • I really am planning to visit some time, maybe 2016, so I’m looking forward to exploring!

        Like

  7. Love your photos! i can’t believe you walked over the Tasman Bridge….wow! it’s a wonderful shot with the reflections. the Sieje wood sculptures are so intriguing & the meaning behind them.

    Like

    • My legs certainly let me know I had walked over the bridge, the views just kept urging me on.
      I marvel at artists interpretation of the world around them, it is certainly intriguing

      Like

  8. Looks like a wonderful place to be…

    Like

  9. wonderful photos.. if i’m there maybe i’ll stay more than 5hrs and my camera would click non-stop.. i love the colors of autumn.. thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment Elizz. I did not get right round, there is so much to absorb and photograph, but the beauty of being here 8 weeks (well 7 now) I can go back a few more times as it is so close to where I am staying.

      Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Tish Farrell

Writer on the Edge

Postcards from Ian and Margaret

We are a couple of retirees, I started this blog as record of our caravan trips. However I have expanded it to include other travel adventures.

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

suesilver

poems, commentary and photography

The Sacred Cave

Slowing down to notice the present moment...

Igor Bilek

"Life is an adventure, not a package tour" ~ Eckhart Tolle ~

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

fulltimelayabout

Photos of my home town

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

ishooteditnblog

Every picture has a story to tell

Memories are made of this

I need photos to keep my memories alive

soitgoes1

Just another WordPress.com site

the vibes

Dreams of a Free Spirit

livingforcreativity

Living a life of creativity, via music, books and films.

In My View

The world as I see it -- by R C Norman

endeavor

my journal of creative expression

