Jack’s the early bird…

Next morning it was still dark when I heard Jack moving around.

“What are you doing? Are you ok?” I asked. “I’m going to see the sun rise” he replied…

I just grunted and pulled the thick, soft duvet closer around my ears.

Later when he returned and showed me the photos I wished I’d made the effort.

Even though the weather forecast said only 6 degrees over night, because there wasn’t any wind and Jack had put warm clothes on he didn’t feel the cold, but was pleased to have warm porridge for breakfast.

Here are the photos Jack took of the sunrise…

The lights of Hobart across the River Derwent

The lights of Hobart across the River Derwent as dawn breaks

The sun starts to make a tentative appearence

The sun starts to make a tentative appearance

Another walker enjoys the early morning

Another walker enjoys the early morning

Then it bursts out in all it's glory.

Then it bursts out in all it’s glory.

Looking in the other direction

Looking in the other direction

The sun catches the peak of Mount Wellington

The sun catches the peak of Mount Wellington. Is that some one paddling?

It must be a local to be paddling and to be wearing shorts as well...Mt Wellington looks like a miniature Uluru

They breed them tough down here, it must be a local to be paddling and to be wearing shorts as well…Mt Wellington looks like a miniature Uluru as it glows in the morning light.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Australia, Hobart, house sitting, photos, sunrise, Tasmania, travel | Tags: , , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Jack’s the early bird…

  1. Wow! I’ve never seen a sky like that before. Absolutely beautiful. Tell Jack he did “real good.” 😉

    Like

    • I didn’t think they would get such beautiful sun rises as that here. Jack was really “chuffed” when he did the show and tell for me. I will pass on your comments

      Like

  2. Spectacular shots! I’m betting next time you’ll toss those covers and join him, eh? 😉

    Like

  3. good for jack, these are wonderful! my godfather used to live on mt wellington … so i have been up there once long ago … in the 60’s!

    Like

    • We hope to eventually go up Mt Wellington before we leave but will have to choose a clear day there always seems to be a lot of cloud hanging around the top

      Like

  4. Great photos Jack! Totally worth the effort of getting up so early.

    Like

  5. What a lovely morning. Beautiful photographs

    Like

  6. wow…. love the colors in the sky 🙂

    Like

  7. WOW, these are fantastic 🙂

    Like

  8. Your early bird did really catch some great shots! i love the soft pink sky & ocean before the sun bursts. In the States, young people wear shorts all the time despite the temperature….looks the same there!

    Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Tish Farrell

Writer on the Edge

Postcards from Ian and Margaret

We are a couple of retirees, I started this blog as record of our caravan trips. However I have expanded it to include other travel adventures.

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

suesilver

poems, commentary and photography

The Sacred Cave

Slowing down to notice the present moment...

Igor Bilek

"Life is an adventure, not a package tour" ~ Eckhart Tolle ~

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

fulltimelayabout

Photos of my home town

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

ishooteditnblog

Every picture has a story to tell

Memories are made of this

I need photos to keep my memories alive

soitgoes1

Just another WordPress.com site

the vibes

Dreams of a Free Spirit

livingforcreativity

Living a life of creativity, via music, books and films.

In My View

The world as I see it -- by R C Norman

endeavor

my journal of creative expression

