Travel Theme : Mountains

This week Ailsa’s travel theme has taken me back to New Zealand. The South Island of New Zealand is dominated by the Southern Alps that run along the spine of the country. Most places  visited will have a stunning backdrop of these majestic mountains.

************************************

Another country dominated by mountains is Korea. Along with a large percentage of the population we spent a day on Seoraksan Mountain a popular National Park. We walked single file behind a long line of people of all ages to reach the summit. The track was steep but it was a relaxed, leisurely pace with time to stop and take a few photos.

Mt Seoraksan

Mt Seoraksan

Looking down into the valley

Looking down into the valley

Nearly at the summit

Nearly at the summit

The summit

The summit

Categories: mountains, New Zealand, photos, travel theme | Tags: , , , | 29 Comments

Post navigation

29 thoughts on “Travel Theme : Mountains

  1. (Sigh) I can only dream of seeing some of the beautiful sights you have seen, Pauline. These are fantastic. You and Jack have made some wonderful memories.

    Like

  2. Stunning pics. I especially love the one where mountains are covered in mist and there is a waterfall on the side. What a gorgeous start to my day 🙂

    Like

  3. My boyfriend is from Picton, and he once told me that he never feels like he’s flying home until he can see those Southern Alps under the plane’s wing….pretty photos!

    Like

  4. LOVE the Korean mountains. You should come to Nepal and visit. I heard they have these great little mountains called the Himilayas..

    Like

  5. These photos are awesome, and NZ really does ‘do’ mountains to perfection.
    I missed this challenge, I was in Germany visiting the Harz Mountains!

    Like

    • Will look forward to you belated mountain photos, Where you tramping in the mountains?

      Like

      • No, the mountains were all covered in deep snow. They were beautiful. I have a post going up in about an hour on my trip up there. I could not actually get any photos of the mountains themselves, so I might leave the challenge I missed!

        Like

  6. Outstanding pics

    Like

  7. Pauline my pommepal ful of gypsy life, wonder what new adventure you are thinking up for us.

    Like

  8. These are amazing pics – I absolutely love them. What wonderful memories you must have of your travels 😀

    Like

  9. Phenomenal photos! Makes me want to GO somewhere wonderful!

    Like

  10. Spectacular photographs! Scenery is so impressive, as is your list of places seen!

    Like

    • Thank you for the comments. I’m so pleased I took the opportunity to do all my travelling when I was younger and travel was easier 10-20 years ago

      Like

  11. Wow, your pics are incredibly exciting, Pommepal. Love them all. 🙂

    Like

  12. You did a stunning job with these photos!

    Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Out an' About

Loving Life On and Off the Tracks

Jill's Scene

A small town take on the big, wide world

olddogsnewtruck

putting down roots in Maine

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Tish Farrell

Writer on the Edge

Postcards from Ian and Margaret

We are a couple of retirees, I started this blog as record of our caravan trips. However I have expanded it to include other travel adventures.

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

suesilver

poems, commentary and photography

The Sacred Cave

Slowing down to notice the present moment...

Igor Bilek

"Life is an adventure, not a package tour" ~ Eckhart Tolle ~

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

fulltimelayabout

Photos of my home town

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

ishooteditnblog

Every picture has a story to tell

Memories are made of this

I need photos to keep my memories alive

soitgoes1

Just another WordPress.com site

