Heading home….

I made the decision to drive along the coast road. The hinterland can wait for another day, another drive, another blog post…

First stop is Hastings Street the iconic shopping and café culture centre of Noosa. This short, 300 metre, street is popular with the shopaholic. With the shady ponciana trees in full flower it is a pleasant way to stretch my legs and do some people watching. I try to capture the unique ambience, the sun is shining, the people are strolling/trolling the boutiques or enjoying coffee with friends. Some shops have funky music spilling out into the street. In contrast a delivery bloke rushes past with goods to deliver. I love the atmosphere.

Leaving Noosa I take a wrong turn and spend 30 minutes driving round the tree-lined streets of the suburbs, expensive walled villas, homes surrounded by lush tropical gardens with a glint of swimming pools. Where is the way that will take me to the coast road? Eventually I stumble on to the road south.

It is a beautiful drive, the road winds along miles of ocean front with views across the azure blue ocean and almost deserted beaches. I stop to take photos. What a great way to spend a day.

Path to the beach

Path to the beach

White sand, blue sky and bluer ocean

White sand, blue sky and bluer ocean

Sunshine coast beaches, sun, sand and lazy living

Sunshine coast beaches, sun, sand and lazy living

Finally I leave the coast behind and join the frenetic traffic on the M1 motorway, 4 lanes, 110 kilometres/hour, every one in a hurry. In the distance, over the hills of the hinterland I can see black storm clouds looming.

On the by-pass that takes me around Brisbane and now 100 kilometres from home it starts to rain.

A sign flashes overhead “Be prepared for congestion”. I wonder how you do that!

Another 30 kilometres and I join the end of a slow, crawling line of traffic. It continues all the way to my turn off.

Then there it is, home sweet home, end of another road trip…

Home sweet home

Home sweet home

 

Categories: Australia, australian travel, travel | Tags: , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Heading home….

  1. Margaret Sullivan

    Happy New Year and a big hug.

    Like

    • G’day Margaret, welcome to my world I’m pleased you dropped by and left a comment.. Best wishes for 2013 and a big hug back to you….

      Like

  2. Well, I have arrived at your blog at the end of the journey! I will have to backtrack to see where you have been.
    Your photos are lovely. I was in QLD for the solar eclipse, it was wonderful!

    Like

    • Thank you for joining me on my journeys. Did you do a post on the eclipse? I met several people that had been there and they all said it was an amazing experience.

      Like

  3. Home sweet home?? Itchy feet again yet?

    Like

    • G’day Stephanie, good to hear from you. Well abit too hot for travelling in Matilda at the moment, but I have a few ideas starting to bubble around in my mind my 2013!!!!!

      Like

  4. What a fabulous drive – I love Noosa! 😉

    Like

  5. Like every word and every photo, my favouret is the beach with woman and umber umbrella.

    Like

  6. Winter is nearly upon us. Your ocean pictures warmed me! 🙂 All of your photos were beautiful, Pauline.

    Like

  7. ah, it looks so wonderful there, and of course, there’s no place like home! thank you for taking us on your journey! it’s been fun! z

    Like

  8. Feeling very envious of you today as its icy here and raining and I have to take some sandwiches down to my dad at the allotment!

    Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Living in Paradise...

Life always gives you a second chance, it is called TOMORROW....

olddogsnewtruck

putting down roots in Maine

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Tish Farrell

Writer on the Edge

Postcards from Ian and Margaret

We are a couple of retirees, I started this blog as record of our caravan trips. However I have expanded it to include other travel adventures.

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

suesilver

poems, commentary and photography

The Sacred Cave

Slowing down to notice the present moment...

Igor Bilek

"Life is an adventure, not a package tour" ~ Eckhart Tolle ~

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

fulltimelayabout

Photos of my home town

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

ishooteditnblog

Every picture has a story to tell

Memories are made of this

I need photos to keep my memories alive

soitgoes1

Just another WordPress.com site

the vibes

Dreams of a Free Spirit

livingforcreativity

Living a life of creativity, via music, books and films.

