Travel Theme :Animals (2)

In 2010 when we did the BIG trip around Australia that took us a year, we discovered “house sitting”. It was a great way to have a break from the road, and a bit more room to spread out. We like living and travelling in Matilda and have adjusted to the lack of space, but, oh boy, it was good to have a proper kitchen, toilet and bathroom just down the hallway, a place we could call home for a few weeks.

The bonus was having pets to pamper, take for walks, discovering new areas, and a warm furry body to cuddle. (I don’t mean Jack 🙂 ).

We did 3 different house sits during the year and these are the animals we cared for…

Ailsa from “Where’s my backpack” inspired us this week with the theme Animals. I have been so inspired that this is my second post about animals. Click on Ailsas blog to see many more animals…

Categories: animals, Australia, australian travel, travel, travel theme | Tags: , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Travel Theme :Animals (2)

  1. Pomm-
    How are you and Matilda doing now?
    Reading your blog reminds of Louis Armstrong, “And I think to myself, what a wonderful world..Everything for you and for me.”
    Cindy

    Like

    • pommepal

      Well lots of dramas will be doing a post later…
      I love that Louis Armstrong song and agree so much with that sentiment.

      Like

  2. What a wonderful time you must have had, such adorable animals!

    Like

  3. What a lovely way to see the world and to meet lots of new four legged friends; must confess to having a bit of a soft spot for Thunder

    Like

    • He was a real softy. He had his own bed but each morning when I woke up I would find him curled up on the end of my bed and looking at me with those big mournful eyes

      Like

  4. I’ve looked at the House Sitting sites a few times and am seriously considering it when my circumstances allow – thanks for this post, these guys certainly know how to pose 🙂

    Like

    • House carers are a very good site. $55 per year subs, but that is more than off set by the saving of accomadation costs after a weeks sit. Also a good way to have a holiday in some of the nicest places…

      Like

  5. what a great reason to housesit!

    Like

  6. Love these pictures! They are all adorable, and it must have been wonderful caring for them.

    Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Tish Farrell

Writer on the Edge

Postcards from Ian and Margaret

We are a couple of retirees, I started this blog as record of our caravan trips. However I have expanded it to include other travel adventures.

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

suesilver

poems, commentary and photography

The Sacred Cave

Slowing down to notice the present moment...

Igor Bilek

"Life is an adventure, not a package tour" ~ Eckhart Tolle ~

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

fulltimelayabout

Photos of my home town

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

ishooteditnblog

Every picture has a story to tell

Memories are made of this

I need photos to keep my memories alive

soitgoes1

Just another WordPress.com site

the vibes

Dreams of a Free Spirit

livingforcreativity

Living a life of creativity, via music, books and films.

In My View

The world as I see it -- by R C Norman

endeavor

my journal of creative expression

