The road is calling

The call of the unknown

Winter is here, but the weather is still perfect. A little colder in the evenings, but those perfect clear, crisp, sunny winter days are with us. The sun has risen into a sky that is blue and cloudless every day for the past week. I love this time of the year. Pottering in the garden, walking along the beach is pure pleasure. This is also ideal weather for driving…

 I can feel a restlessness inside…

Matilda has had her 10,000 km service and her wheels are painted and she has a clean bill of health. Not bad for a 255,000km vetran of travel. We have also had our health checks, eye tests and feeling fit. The garden has had its autumn pruning and a new coat of mulch to help keep the weeds down.

I am ready to go…

So I have set a date. A decision to “Hit the road Jack”. JULY 1st….

Two weeks, just time to sort out all the camping gear, pack it into Matilda. Give her a wash and polish. Final farewells to friends. A good excuse for farewell lunches. Then away to find the winter sun of tropical Australia…

This year the plan is to head into Northern Territory and explore Darwin and Kakadu and all areas around there. The Territory has a reputation for untamed wilderness and larrikan characters. First though it will be up to Rockhampton, then across the middle via Longreach and Mt Isa and that will be cold at night, so will need warm clothes for that part of the trip but then our reward will be the warm barmy, tropical heat of the north.

Meanwhile I have a lot to do before we are ready to go.

Categories: australian travel, preparing to go, travel | Tags: , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “The road is calling

  1. Lucky you – would love nothing more than to take off on the open road. Unfortunately work beckons. 😦

    Like

  2. Thanks for comment, looking forward to being on the road again…

    Like

  3. Wow, what a terrific adventure you have ahead of you, how exciting!

    Like

  4. Hi Pauline & Jack,
    Good to see you both today at the club,
    Do you know I wish that we still had our camper trailer, but never mind.You didn’t pick up your bucket did you, we will pop it in when we are passing.
    B&B

    Like

  5. I’m hoping I can get 250,000 kilometres out of my road companion; now over the 200,000 mark.

    Like

    • When you live 24/7 with your van you treat them like part of the family. I have even been known to talk to Matilda….

      Like

  6. Love it, road trips are the best way to see the country. If you’re interested, I run a weekly travel theme, I’d love you to join in. This week’s travel theme is Secret Places. I suspect you and Matilda have found a few secret places in your time. xxx Ailsa http://wheresmybackpack.com/2012/06/15/secret-places/

    Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Tish Farrell

Writer on the Edge

Postcards from Ian and Margaret

We are a couple of retirees, I started this blog as record of our caravan trips. However I have expanded it to include other travel adventures.

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

suesilver

poems, commentary and photography

The Sacred Cave

Slowing down to notice the present moment...

Igor Bilek

"Life is an adventure, not a package tour" ~ Eckhart Tolle ~

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

fulltimelayabout

Photos of my home town

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

ishooteditnblog

Every picture has a story to tell

Memories are made of this

I need photos to keep my memories alive

soitgoes1

Just another WordPress.com site

the vibes

Dreams of a Free Spirit

livingforcreativity

Living a life of creativity, via music, books and films.

In My View

The world as I see it -- by R C Norman

endeavor

my journal of creative expression

