The call of the garden

A tropical paradise

I have been back home 5 weeks and it has taken me that long to sort through all the photos we took of New Zealand and catalogue them into the blog post by post. It was a labour of love to revisit all the places and people we met. Reliving the journey for a second time.

Way back in the dinasore days, before digital photography, it took even longer as the film first had to be developed, then how many times would you be disappointed at the results, not as you remembered, and you could not go back for a retake. The camera shops would offer a 2 sets for the price of one, so of course you would take the 2 sets thinking you could always send a copy to all the friends and “rellies”. How many of you have shoe boxes full of these photos, yellowing with age, and absolutely no idea of where the photo is of, or who the people are in it. But some how, you just can’t bring yourself to throw them away? Back then I did “scrap-booking”, it was all the rage, and still is, but now it is digital scrap-booking, but for me it is now blogging that I am addicted to.

Well that was a short walk down memory lane…

Back to the present: One of the reasons that it took 5 weeks to complete sorting the New Zealand trip photos was because other things vied for my attention. We came back to perfect Queensland weather. Day after day of sun, and the garden called to me. Gardening is another of my passions and over the 13 years we have been in this house Jack and I have created our small slice of paradise. The first thing I do when ever I arrive back, after time away, is to wander around and admire all the plants. These past 2 years have been an amazing time for growth. After nearly 10 years of drought conditions, from 2000 to 2010, and a struggle to just keep things alive, it is a pleasure to see the garden so happy. I am also lucky to have two great friends who look after the garden while we are away. They love the garden as I do and enjoy looking after it.

Yesterday it was a major autumn pruning day as the growth has been so phenomenal it was rapidly becoming a jungle. There has been no rain for a month and thoughts of drought were starting to surface. From May to October is, normally, the dry season in this area, but for 2 years that has not happened, and we have had the wettest 2 years on record. Weather patterns all round the world seem to be changing. Today the rain has come and we can heave a sigh of relief.

So I would like to take you for a walk around our garden…

Front garden

Front garden,old man banksia in front

Narrow side garden, climbing Bauhinia in flower

Compost corner

Back garden, fish ponds made using old baths

 

Categories: garden, photos, tropical garden | Tags: , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “The call of the garden

  1. Thanks for the comment I enjoyed looking at your garden. I think you could grow most of our tropical type plants in California

    Like

  2. Thanks for the article, What a beautiful garden. I have just started a blog about my California tropical garden. I find your garden very inspirational though because of the climate, we might not be able to grow some of the plants that you have here in California. I’m looking forward to seeing more photos & posts of your garden in the future. Jesse

    Like

  3. Hi Judith thanks for comment, good to hear from you

    Like

  4. Judith McArthur

    Thanks for all your newsy bloggs on your big adventure. Your garden looks beautiful and thank you for sharing with us all. Judith

    Like

  5. Lovely garden, and cleverly designed to be able to survive your time away from it!

    Like

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Tish Farrell

Writer on the Edge

Postcards from Ian and Margaret

We are a couple of retirees, I started this blog as record of our caravan trips. However I have expanded it to include other travel adventures.

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

suesilver

poems, commentary and photography

The Sacred Cave

Slowing down to notice the present moment...

Igor Bilek

"Life is an adventure, not a package tour" ~ Eckhart Tolle ~

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

fulltimelayabout

Photos of my home town

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

ishooteditnblog

Every picture has a story to tell

Memories are made of this

I need photos to keep my memories alive

soitgoes1

Just another WordPress.com site

the vibes

Dreams of a Free Spirit

livingforcreativity

Living a life of creativity, via music, books and films.

In My View

The world as I see it -- by R C Norman

endeavor

my journal of creative expression

