Kununurra…

We are in the town of Kununurra and have been here almost a week. It is a great campground right next to Hidden Valley NP. I remember this area with fond memories from my trip 5 years ago. I fell in love with the vibrant green landscape and so much to see and do. I was looking forward to sharing it with Jack and it hasn’t disappointed us.

We have a lovely shady and quiet spot in the campground of the same name, Hidden Valley, the camp is only 5 minute bike ride into the town centre along a flat bike path and the walks into the gorges of the Hidden Valley are stunning. The weather is warm and with temps of 30-35deg so we were very pleased to have a resort style pool to cool down in.

A couple of highlights were trips we did. First one was a cruise down the mighty lower Ord River, croc and wildlife spotting. We were shooting crocs (with the cameras of course!!!) The second was a full day flight with Alligator Airways across the Argyle Lake and the irrigation areas around Kununurra,  then walk into the Bungle Bungle NP.

In 2005 the 2 day trip I did into this area was the highlight of my whole trip around Australia. That time I did not fly in but had a 5 hour drive in by 4 wheel drive vehicle. The last few miles being through very rough terrain. One of the walks in 2005 was to the Echidna Gorge and Scott, the guide, said if we climbed up and reached into a crevice right at the end of the Gorge and touched a hidden stone we would return to the Kimberley again. Well I touched that stone in 2005 but never thought I would return…

This time we walked into Cathedral Gorge, it was just as beautiful as I remembered it but the number of people that we shared the experience with had increased dramatically. In 2005 just our group of 7 people plus Scott were there but this time approx 100 plus people were there…

Between us we took approx 500 photos, the scenery is so awesome and unique that every where you look you are inspired to try to catch the beauty of the amazing beehive formations. We now will have to try to decide which ones to put in the blog.

Tomorrow we will be moving on, westwards, towards Broome. I don’t think there will be any internet connections out there and it will take us approx 5-6 days depending on what we find in transit…

Categories: caravan park, National Parks | Leave a comment

Post navigation

I love to receive comments, maybe we could start a conversation.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Lucid Gypsy

Come away with the raggle taggle gypsy-o

Tish Farrell

Writer on the Edge

Postcards from Ian and Margaret

We are a couple of retirees, I started this blog as record of our caravan trips. However I have expanded it to include other travel adventures.

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

suesilver

poems, commentary and photography

The Sacred Cave

Slowing down to notice the present moment...

Igor Bilek

"Life is an adventure, not a package tour" ~ Eckhart Tolle ~

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Where's my backpack?

Romancing the planet; a love affair with travel.

fulltimelayabout

Photos of my home town

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

ishooteditnblog

Every picture has a story to tell

Memories are made of this

I need photos to keep my memories alive

soitgoes1

Just another WordPress.com site

the vibes

Dreams of a Free Spirit

livingforcreativity

Living a life of creativity, via music, books and films.

In My View

The world as I see it -- by R C Norman

endeavor

my journal of creative expression

